Why Did Pope John Paul II Kiss The Koran?

The internet is flooded with images such as this and often with a message that because Bl.Pope John Paul II kissed the koran, that he somehow betrayed his faith. This is absolute nonsense. I have looked for answers to this question for people who have asked me. Although many answers are close, they never seem to satisfy those who remain obstinate that Bl.Pope John Paul II indeed betrayed his faith.

Image

So after some thinking I’ve come up with what I hope will satisfy as a good answer.

And here it is: ( Cor:1:9:20-22 )”To them that are under the law, as if I were under the law, (whereas myself was not under the law,) that I might gain them that were under the law. To them that were without the law, as if I were without the law, (whereas I was not without the law of God, but was in the law of Christ,) that I might gain them that were without the law.  To the weak I became weak, that I might gain the weak. I became all things to all men, that I might save all.”

So just as St.Paul, Blessed Pope John Paul II kissed the Koran out of respect, but not with any conviction that the Islamic faith was the true one. .

God bless

Domestic Monk

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Why Did Pope John Paul II Kiss The Koran?

  1. J.reyes

    so what if that was a Satanic Bible will that make a difference?

    • The Domestic Monk

      Of course it would make a difference. But Bl.Pope John Paul II was kissing the Koran out of respect for their belief that there was a one God. He did this out of respect and not out of conviction that the Islamic faith was the true one. It was a kiss of respect and not of betrayal.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

