Surrounded By People Who Want To Convert Me

Christos Annesti!

They’re good people whom I love dearly and I know have good intentions, but I am surrounded by many who are trying to rope me in and get me involved in their religious communities. Some may offer an invitation to their Church and some may try and use something I possess like my photography for example to get me involved. Why? because people see I’m interested in the Orthodox church and so the Orthodox want to help me and the Catholics see I’m looking for a good excuse to leave the Catholic Church as I’m concerned for my boys and families spiritual future and growth (which I don’t believe they’re getting in the overtly feminine Catholic Church) and so naturally are employing tactics to get me to stay.

It’s a good idea and I like their strategies because one knows that when you’re embedded into a group there’s a better chance you’ll remain in the Church or become part of theirs. I know my photography is awful so when someone asks me to come in and do it for them I’m always aware of the reasons why and its not because I’m any good at it (I’ve only being doing photography since 2013) but because they want to use it as a means to get me involved.

That said I enjoy doing it anyway if it contributes towards the church and the cause because I hold both of these things dear to my heart anyway.

I would just prefer it if people would not approach me in a roundabout way and do it directly be blunt and just come out with it. I don’t like to praise myself but I’m a little more astute than most people think in examining situations. I’d prefer it people just said ”Stephen would you like to speak with someone about why you want to leave the church or for any other help you may need?”

Great, its just so great because it eliminates the wastage of time inviting me here nor there. Again I’m not praising myself here or boasting but that’s something you do with someone whose spiritually asleep and who needs a gentle awakening and introduction to the faith because they’ve been hammered by secularism and numb to all things spiritual for years.

I on the other hand am a different kettle of fish altogether and to be honest there’s really no need to convert me because the massive row that’s going on between me and God at the moment over his Church he’s brought me into will be ongoing and there’s nothing you can do about it. I possess my own spirituality in the sense that I go to Mass once a week and confession, accept all the churches wonderful teachings and I’m happy to leave it at that with everything else in between such as the odd devotional prayer.

When I came into the Church I’ve done my bit in my immediate local community, tried to get involved and realized the church from laity to bishop wont listen to reason and so getting any more involved in the Catholic Church would drive me absolutely more bonkers than I already am.

I’m happy in the job I’m currently in and I’ve returned to what I consider a fairly normal life and I’m at peace now with that so just leave me be and focus on those who need your attention. It’s not your fault, its mine for advertising my difficulties on facebook and wordpress but you’re better off ignoring my rants and getting on with your own life. You have enough to be worrying about me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Surrounded By People Who Want To Convert Me

  1. What makes you think that you’re a Christian?

    • Hi “Mr Nobody ” you commented with the name “Sentient Christian” and now you’ve changed that to Mr nobody. You’re right though my behaviour exemplifies one who is not Christian at all.

      • Mr Nobody

        Religious communities are a very bad idea generally.

      • I don’t share the same belief as the apostles and their followers were the first religious community of their time..communities are important I just don’t want to get involved and want to leave that to someone called to do so. I’m not interested in a debate on that issue.

  2. If you are in a relationship with Christ then rejoice in being part of the church universal and don’t allow individual groups to suck you in. Worship where you are not hampered and commit where you can and where you feel a lack of manipulation and control. So many are attending cathedrals for that reason. Sometimes I feel local churches are like family- they can test your grace and, no doubt one tests theirs! – and that can develop your character, but cathedrals can be like friends who leave you alone and respect your space, but are there for you if you need them!

  3. I’m glad you’ve found some peace.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

