I Bought An 18th Century Icon

I am building a collection of these icons from Russia and Ukraine. They are native icons mostly painted by the poor. 

But that’s why I love them. Their simple attempt and innocent style attracts me to them in comparison to the skilled artist whose style is also worthy of appreciation. 

I’m really not a fan of printed icons or copies unless they’re a unique copy of an ancient piece that you cannot get anywhere else except from that particular dealer. 

It’s exciting and the thrill of finding a place for it on my wall. 

What is the icon ? It’s an image of the Theotokos when she was a child. Zechariah and Anne are to the left and the boy Jesus and Joseph to the right. In the heavens is the glorified Theotokos. 

I’ll post a pic when it comes in. 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

